• govim1sl.jpg
  • govim2sl.jpg
  • govim3sl.jpg
  • govim4sl.jpg


Ditcham Park School - Governors

Please find below a comprehensive list of all Governors.

Governors 2015 - 2016
Mr C Pickett Chairman of Governors & Chairman of Marketing Sub-Committee
Mr W G Brown Vice-Chairman of Governors & Chairman of Finance Sub Committee
Rev W Hughes School Chaplain
Mrs M Downes Nominated Governor for Child Protection & Nominated Governor for Music
Mr D Taylor  
Mr A Dale Deputy Chairman of Building Sub-Committee & Member of Finance Sub-Committee
Mrs C Tyrrell  
Mr G Hughes  
Sir Sherard Cowper-Coles, KCMG, LVO Mrs P M Holmes - (Founding Headmistress 1976 - 1999)
Cdr M E Buchanan Mrs K S Morton - (Head Teacher 1999 - 2011)
Mr J P Daley Mr Bruce Strugnell

 Governors' Profiles

William (Bill) Brown (Vice Chair of Governors & Chair of Finance Sub Committee )

Bill has been a Governor at Ditcham since June 2007. In his 30 years experience operating at Board level in the health care industry, Bill was chief financial officer of three top10 UK pharmaceutical companies; and also held Board positions in manufacturing and operations; and marketing. Latterly, Bill acted as executive director in a European-wide role for Wyeth. Now retired, Bill’s community activities includes membership of the Board of Directors of Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Bill is married and has five children and five grandchildren


Alexander (Sandy) Dale (Deputy Chair of the Building Sub Committee )

Sandy has been a Governor since March 2008. Sandy was employed by IBM UK for 35years, latterly as a Process Manager. After leaving IBM he joined HMRC for 5 years before complete retirement. For many years Sandy was involved with the Scout movement in Havant as a Group Scout Leader and ADC Adult Training. He is an examinations’ invigilator at a local State School. Sandy has a variety of interests covering music, Scottish history, theatre, walking, gardening and sport especially rowing and rugby. Sandy is married with one son who was Head Boy at Ditcham in 1998. 

Mary Downes (Designated Governor for Safeguarding)

Mary has been a Governor at Ditcham since June 2011. After graduating from Leeds University , her career has been split between NHS management, (initially in London and later at St Mary’s Hospital, Portsmouth) and local government, the last ten years of which were spent in senior roles in Social Services in Hampshire and West Sussex County Councils. Since 2011, Mary has been undertaking governance support to a number of schools in Hampshire. Mary’s experience in Social Services has been of particular value in taking on the role of Designated Governor for Safeguarding at Ditcham. The unique pastoral care and individual support offered to pupils at Ditcham was a major factor behind her decision to become a Governor and she hopes to continue supporting the School in maintaining this aspect of the School’s ethos. Mary is married with two children, one of whom attended Ditcham.

Rev’d Will Hughes  (Governor)

Will has been a Governor at Ditcham since June 2012. Will is the Vicar of Petersfield and Rector of Buriton, he is also Rural Dean of Petersfield, supporting the clergy from Bramshott to Buriton and Warnford to Whitehill. He currently serves as a Director of Portsmouth Diocese on the Bishop’s Council, is a Vocations Advisor for those exploring ministry, and is the district chaplain to the Scouts. Will has been a parish priest for 13 years, and for 9 of those has been a School Governor, including 3 years as Chair of Governors for a State Primary School. He is a chaplain to Ditcham and to Churcher’s College and teaches occasional RE lessons at both schools. Will is also a Governor at Petersfield Infant’s school. He serves on the Diocesan Board of Education for Portsmouth and Winchester dioceses, supporting church schools across both dioceses, and is involved in Church academy sponsorship across the same area. Will studied sciences at St Peter’s College, Radley, and joined the Royal Navy as an Engineering officer for two years, before leaving to explore a vocation to ministry. He served his title in Warminster as part of a team serving 9 churches and several schools, and taught RE at Warminster School. His first post was as Vicar of Blackmoor and Whitehill. He is married and has four children.

Gethin Hughes  (Governor)

Gethin became a Governor at Ditcham in May 2015. Since graduating from Aberystwyth University in 1997, Gethin has worked for the NHS. He is currently Director for Integrated Services at Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust, the community and mental health provider in Hampshire. Gethin joins the Council of Governors with a strong interest in workforce and organisational development. Gethin is married and has a daughter in Juniors at Ditcham.

Chris Pickett(Chair of Governors)

Chris has been a Governor at Ditcham since October 2008. For the last 32 years, Chris has been Managing Director of a five-generation family jewellery business in Petersfield. Through his profession, his participation in three Olympic cycles within England’s and Team GB’s hockey programme, and his current position as president of Havant Hockey Club, he has acquired key skills in performance management, motivation and team leadership. A strong understanding in marketing and building a brand image has enabled Chris to contribute to the School as Chairman of the Marketing Sub Committee and has been a member of the Buildings Sub Committee. Chris is married with four children, his youngest daughter is currently in the Juniors whilst his youngest son left Ditcham after a well-rounded education.

Catherine Tyrrell (Designated Governor for Creative Arts)

Catherine has been a Governor since October 2012. Catherine qualified in medicine in 1980 and became a GP in 1984, working as a part time partner in a practice in Portsmouth since then.  During her time in general practice Catherine has been involved in teaching medical students from Southampton University, and in their clinical examinations.Catherine is the Research Lead in her practice, and also has a particular interest in acupuncture.  As a GP she has training in Safeguarding and Child Protection.  Catherine is involved in careers advice at PGS and has had a small role there supporting the medical team. Catherine is married to a recently retired GP and has two sons.